Residents of Chesterfield may purchase gun permits from the Chesterfield Police Department as long as the following requirements are met:
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must live within the town limits of Chesterfield
- Must possess and produce a valid ID with Social Security number and Date of Birth
- Cannot be convicted of a felony or have two previous convictions for driving while intoxicated. (Criminal record checks will be performed by the Chesterfield Police Department and the Indiana State Police.)
Types of Gun Permits and their fees:
Chesterfield Police Fee
State of Indiana
|Four Year Protection||$10||$30|
|Lifetime Protection and Currently Have Valid Gun Permit||$40||$60|
|Lifetime Protection and No Current Gun Permit||$50||$75|
|If Retired Law Enforcement Officer||Fee Exempt||Fee Exempt|
|If Retired Corrections Officer||Fee Exempt||Fee Exempt|
|If Firearms Dealer||Fee Exempt||Fee Exempt|
A portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued. Effective July 1st 2006, renewals for an existing license will only be accepted 180 days or less from the expiration date.
You must do the paperwork for the gun permit online through the Indiana State Police website, www.in.gov/isp then go to firearms licensing. Print out your paperwork and bring to police department for the fingerprinting process.
Gun permits may be obtained in the Records Office of the Police Department, 17 Veterans Blvd, by appointment only. Contact the Police Department at 765-378-3354.
The fee for the Chesterfield Police Department may be paid by cash, check or money order, made payable to Chesterfield Police Department. The State fee may only be paid by money order, made payable to State of Indiana.